Posted by: Richard Bergstrom | September 13, 2011

May I First – A Poem

May I First by Richard Bergstrom

 

May I first…

 

May I be the first

To comfort you,

     To sympathize with your needs.

May I be the first

To open a door for you,

     Even before you say please.

 

May I be the first

To see you,

     To help you past the norm.

May I be the first

To cradle you,

     Giving you shelter before the storm.

 

May I be the first

To love you,

     To aid you with your woes.

May I be the first

To smile with you

     Even before you feel low.

 

May I be the first

To cherish you,

     To enjoy life by your side.

May I be the first

To worship you,

     As before the world you stride.

 

May you be the first –

     Even if I am not.

May I be the next –

     Hope is all we got.

May I, the First.

 

Please feel free to check out the new post “Uniformly Bad Baseball Advertising” at http://bergstromblogsonbaseball.wordpress.com 

Feel free to leave feedback on anything that interests you (or for that matter, anything you would like to talk about). You can also get a free subscription to this blog so that you are emailed when further updates are made.

Thanks!

Richard

Leave a Reply

Categories

